33rd Annual S.R.H.S. All-Awards

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Welcome     Brenda Benzies
          Marley MacInnis
           Ben MacIsaac & Blake O'Hanley

Awards Presentations 

Student Council Leadership Awards    Mary Ellen O'Brien & Patricia Leslie (Co-Presidents), Jorie Rose (Secretary), Brett Whalen (Treasurer),
                                                             Kaleigh Campbell-Wakaluk, Mary Irene Campbell, Nathan Paton, Hildamay Humphrey

Skills Canada Winner   
Graphic Design - Gold:     Chris Briand  

Midget Girls' Soccer
Most Improved Player:
    Megan MacPhee
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Rebecca Chapman
Most Valuable Player:     Alex MacDonald
Congratulations to the Midget Girls' team, Provincial A Gold Medallists (2 years in a row!)

Midget Boys' Soccer     
Most Improved Players:
    Liam Carpenter & Brandon Ching
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Randy MacAulay
Most Valuable Player:     Max MacDonald

Senior Girls' Soccer     
Rookie of the Year:
    Chelsea MacCormack
Most Improved Player:
    Elizabeth Hennessey
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Holly MacPhee
Most Valuable Player:    Marley MacInnis

Senior Boys' Soccer     
Most Improved Player:    
Ryan Birt
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Chad Mooney
Most Valuable Player:     Marcellus Campbell

Midget Girls' Volleyball     
Most Improved Player:
    Victoria Elliott
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship :     Meaghan Allen
Most Valuable Player:     Leah Deveau

Senior Girls' Volleyball     
Most Improved Player:
    Katie Blaisdell
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Emily Mahar
Most Valuable Player:     Brenda Benzies

    Calvin MacIntyre

Cross Country     Alex Fitzpatrick & Morgan Lavie
Track & Field 2008
Logan Sauve’

Yearbook Awards      Mallory MacInnis, Sarah MacDonald, Taylor Mooney, Mary Ellen O'Brien, Richard MacDonald, Hildamay Humphrey,
                                   & Editors: Chris Briand & Mari Humphrey

Grad Class Awards     Andrew O'Brien & Danielle Lavie

Band Awards    
Grade 9     Most Improved:   
Rebecca Chapman & Dylan Fay
                   Most Dedicated:   Jessica Chapman
                   Spirit Award:        Sarah MacPhee
Grade 10  
Most Improved:    Keisha Paquet
       Most Dedicated:   Danielle Peters
                  Spirit Award:        Danielle Mahar
Grade 11  
Most Improved:   Mary Irene Campbell
Most Dedicated:   Kyler Burke
Spirit Award:        Kelsey Cheverie
Grade 12   Most Improved:   Andrew O'Brien
Most Dedicated:   Chris Briand
Spirit Award:        Kaleigh Campbell-Wakaluk & Ellen McInnis 

    Chris Briand

Provincial All-Star Certificates:   
Senior AAA Girls' Rugby League 2008 All-Star:    
  Melanie Taylor
Senior Girls' Soccer League All-Star:    
Marley MacInnis
Senior Boys' Soccer League All-Star:     Chad Mooney
Senior Girls' Volleyball League All Stars:    
Brenda Benzies & Mallory MacInnis
Senior Girls Volleyball Provincial Tournament All-Star:    Haylee Sheehan
Midget Girls' Basketball Provincial Tournament All Star:    
Jane MacLaughlin
Senior Girls' Basketball League All Stars:    Melanie Boertien & Marley MacInnis 
Senior Girls' Basketball Provincial Tournament All Star:    Mallory MacInnis
Senior Girls' Basketball Provincial Tournament MVP:    Marley MacInnis 
Senior Boys' Basketball League All Stars:    Nathan Conway & Ben MacIsaac
Senior Boys' Basketball Provincial Tournament All Stars:     Jonathan Gallant & Ben MacIsaac

Power Lifting      
Boys' Most Improved:
    Caeman MacDonald
Girls' Most Improved:     Taylor Mooney
Most Dedicated:     Graham Leslie
Congratulations to the team on setting 8 Provincial Records this season!

Congratulations to the Senior Girls' team, Provincial Gold Medallists!

Debate Team
Most Dedicated:
    Larissa Rose

Prom 2008 
Dedication & Leadership:
   Keisha Paquet

Tokens of appreciation to non-staff Volunteer Coaches & Advisors 
Midget Soccer:  
Randy MacIntyre, Paul Cantelo, & Sherry MacDonald
Senior Soccer:   Michelle Laybolt 
Midget Volleyball:    Nicole Jennings & Amanda Picot
Midget Basketball:    Joanne MacLaughlin & Nicole Jennings
Senior Basketball:  
Peter McQuaid, Rollie Gallant, Theresa McInnis, & Natalie Fisher
Rugby:   Ashley MacIntyre, Freda Fraser, Keisha Rose, & Marcus Dunphy
SAVE:   Maxine MacLennan
Caring Hearts:   Betty MacPhee & Mary Mahar

Introduction of Guest Speaker:     Andrew O'Brien

Guest Speaker:     Heather MacAulay

Thank-you to Guest Speaker:     A.J. McInnis

Continuation of Awards Presentations

SAVE     Dora Malone & Johna Spencer

Caring Hearts Club     Mary Ellen O'Brien & Mari Humphrey

Senior A Girls' Rugby 2008     
Most Improved Player:   
Kelly McClumpha
Dedication & Leadership:     Emily Townshend
Most Valuable Player:     Chelsea MacCormack

Senior AAA Girls' Rugby 2008     
Most Improved Player:    Emily Mahar
Dedication & Leadership:     Jorie Rose & Kellie O'Keefe
Most Valuable Player:     Melanie Taylor

Senior AA Boys' Rugby 2008     
Most Improved Player:    Rory O'Donnell
Dedication & Leadership:     Marcellus Campbell
Most Valuable Player:     Conrad MacDonald

Most Valuable Players: 
    Danielle Peters & Calvin MacIntyre

Athletic Association     Blake O'Hanley

Midget Boys' Basketball     
Most Improved Player: 
    Jonathan MacInnis
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Dylan MacIntyre
Most Valuable Players:     Grant Cahill & Matthew McIntosh

Midget Girls' Basketball
Most Improved Player: 
    Julia MacAulay
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Kelsey Gallant
Most Valuable Player:     Jane MacLaughlin

Senior Boys' Basketball
Most Improved Player: 
    Lucas Peters
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Marcellus Campbell
Coaches' Award for Dedication & Leadership:     Jonathan Gallant
Most Valuable Player:     Ben MacIsaac

Senior Girls' Basketball     
Most Improved Player: 
    Chelsea MacCormack
Player Combining Ability & Sportsmanship:     Laura Boertien
Coaches' Award for Dedication & Leadership:     Mary Irene Campbell
Most Valuable Player:     Marley MacInnis
Congratulations to the Senior Girls’ team, Provincial A Gold Medalists!

Teacher/Advisor Award
    Larry LeBlanc

Athletic Letters for graduating athletes who have participated in one major sport in an Island league for 3 or more years:
Volleyball:    Bailey Moore, Sarah MacDonald
Soccer:        Colby Bruce
Basketball:   Melanie Boertien
Rugby:         Shannon Stover, Elizabeth Steele, Natasha Mills, Ellen McInnis, Patricia Leslie

Athletic Letters
for graduating athletes who have participated in two major sports
in Island leagues for 3 or more years: 
Soccer & Rugby:               
Jorie Rose, Kellie O'Keefe, Dakoda Conohan
Soccer & Softball/Rugby:   Chad Mooney, A.J. McInnis

Athletic Letters for graduating athletes who have participated in three major sports in Island leagues for 3 or more years: 
Soccer & Basketball & Rugby:      
Marley MacInnis
Soccer & Basketball & Softball/Rugby:      Marcellus Campbell, Ben MacIsaac, Blake O'Hanley

Male & Female Athletes of the Year

Nominations are submitted to the Athletic Department and voting takes place according to criteria which include skill level, coachability & attitude, sportsmanship, number of sports, provincial all-star awards, academics, and leadership. Final selections are made by the Athletic Dept. in consultation with the administration.

The final nominees for Female and Male Athlete: 
Brenda Benzies                    Marcellus Campbell
Mallory MacInnis                Nathan Conway
Marley MacInnis                 Ben MacIssac
Emily Mahar                         A.J. McInnis
Jorie Rose                            Blake O'Hanley

Male & Female Athletes of 2008/09:     Marcellus Campbell & Marley MacInnis



Athletics All-Awards History