Legislative Assembly Information

The Legislative Assembly is the parliament of P.E.I.  It's
responsibilities include enacting legislation, approving the finance proposals of
government and holding the Premier and Cabinet accountable for their
actions and debating public issues.  The Legislative Assembly is elected for
statutory term of five years, but can be dissolved at any time within that period
by the Lieutenant Governor on the advice of the Premier.
The Legislative Assembly has 27 seats for each electoral boundary.  Currently
in 2005, there are 23 seats occupied by the Progressive Conservative party and there are 4 seats occupied by the Liberal party.  Presently there are no NDP's occupying any seats.

Here is a floor plan of the Legislative Assembly Chamber.

Click on floor plan to maximize





Back to Home